Change was Inevitable

2015/01/img_1173.jpg

I believe that some schools get so caught up in a “work as minimally as possible and collect the money” that the owners completely forget that they loved this sport and that love inspired them to open a gym. My personal experience was disheartening and sad to watch, but this has also given me more than enough reason to justify my journey to continue some where else.
As I have been without a gym before it has never stopped me from continuing my training. I am grabbing my Gis and closing the door behind me… I have never been a good Blind Follower.
I found a group of individuals who are on the same path or journey as myself and have decided to join this group. No BJJ politics, it is simply flat out Jiu-Jitsu and sharing of techniques and building
friendships. You may have heard of this progressive group and if you have not check it out at BJJ Globetrotters.
After two days of thinking things through and talking things over with my husband it became more clearer than ever that I made the right decision. I had an almost instant feeling of relief, that stress was lifted and I cannot wait to see what the future holds.

..
.
~ Globetrotter ~
.
..

4 thoughts on “Change was Inevitable

  1. I keep meaning to join officially but I’ve already been encouraged to embrace that mentality by my instructors. They’re in this sport purely for the betterment of the art itself and the people around them. With that, if I wanted to jet off somewhere I know I’d have their full blessing. I could train in ‘rival’ gyms, etc. Without being snubbed, and shamed or whatever certain gyms do.

    At the end of the day, it’s YOUR journey, and your decisions determine where you train. If your higher ups aren’t happy with that, fuck ’em.

  2. Sounds like you have made a healthy change. I’m looking forward to hearing more about your journey! I can certainly relate to many of the things you’ve expressed. After suffering the consequences of being a “good blind follower” in my Muay Thai journey, I now have a strong aversion to the gang-like culture that some gyms perpetuate. I’ve made sure that in my BJJ and MMA journey I’ve surrounded myself with a team who are supportive of each other but also all free to seek progression wherever we see fit. All the best for 2015!

Leave a Reply

