War Tribe Open Mat 2015

War Tribe Gear's Community Open Mat 2015

War Tribe Gear’s Community Open Mat 2015

In the meantime, my search for a new gym and coach to follow has taken me back to where it all began and I am excited for the future. I love this sport… and have found a BJJ Home that I can look at with admiration and respect and proud to be apart of!

I asked my husband for a little DIY gym in our garage and he has been working diligently to fulfill my own personal dream of a little BJJ sanctuary. It is coming together very nicely, I should have pictures coming soon!

About a week or two ago I saw on Facebook an offer about an open mat sponsored by War Tribe Gear’s Community Open Mat with War Tribe’s sponsored athletes:

Andre Galvao (8x IBJJF World Champion)

Tim Kennedy (UFC Middleweight Fighter)

Milton Bastos (5x IBJJF World Champion)

Carlos Diego Ferreira (UFC Lightweight Fighter)

Angelica Galvao (2x IBJJF Champion)

Augusto Tanquinho (2x World Champion)

Mackenzie Dern (13 World Titles)

Girls in Gi’s did a raffle through their website to spread the word about the event and in the process win a spot at this open mat and I with a few other ladies won! I was beyond excited as it is not every day that you are able to share the mats with legends. I drove two hours to this event that took place at Alvarez BJJ in Arlington, TX. Now, on my way there I was excited and about half way there it hit me that I was not just sharing the mat with these serious jiu-jitsu players, but that I was basically throwing myself into a shark tank that I was not sure I even belonged in. Half way there I started to get extremely nervous and was even thinking of turning around and going home, but… I ended up pulling up my big girl panties and giving myself a last minute wedgie of confidence.

I quickly found other ladies from the GIG winners and sat down with them, it was nice to hear that I was not the only one who was nervous and a bit anxious. The event began with a warm-up and I joked with one of the other ladies that it was our chance to run to the dressing room and hide (no we did not but it was a funny thought). Each of the sponsored athletes gave a small drill from their games, included: 50/50 defense & attack, a version of worm guard from DLR to berimbolo, wrist lock, and I cannot think if there was another. This event was really cool and awesome to have a lot of black belts from all over Texas and a few from Oklahoma on the mats, there were said to be 100 very talented people on the mats that day. I was able to roll with two of my favorite brown belt’s from North Dallas Mixed Martial Arts – Matt Little & Misty McMillan. Matt has watched me from a new white belt to where I am at today and it is awesome to continue to look up to him for advice and pointers. He has an uncanny way of explaining things that it makes moves seem so simple and obvious. I was also able to roll with Angelica Galvao and it was epic to say the least… Thank You!

I was having issues (cramps, shortness of breath, fatigue) before this event and I asked my coach if he knew or had this happen before and he said, yes… it sounds like you are dehydrated. I was in shock but willing to listen and take his advice and I start monitoring my fluid intake and make sure I was adequately hydrated. The day before this event I hydrated up and the day of I dropped two salt packages into my water jug and drank it there and while I was rolling and WOW… What a difference, I was back to being me!!! I felt so much better and was able to roll like I had before – I am back!

This event was beyond my expectations and I hope that War Tribe Gear is able to do this again! As always, Alvarez BJJ was a great host and accommodated all practitioners with class!

….

..

.

~GO GET SOME BJJ~

.

..

….

4 thoughts on “War Tribe Open Mat 2015

Leave a Reply

