Promotions!!

2015/01/img_1104.jpg

I have not been able to get to promotions since last February but tonight I got to go and it was awesome! The look of the kids who got stripes is priceless, I love watching that. One of the guys next to me I was sure was to get his blue belt and I could tell he was a nervous wreck. I joked with him a bit and told him not to cry lol! I think everyone was promoted and we got two new female blue belts, pretty cool stuff. Afterwards we had a huge open mat, it was just packed.
It is extraordinarily hard for me to not try and help lower belts when their technique is off and I bit my tongue a few times but eventually I had to speak up. I always ask, “do you want to know why that is not working?” Its cool when you literally see the lightbulb go off above their head.
My lungs are still a battle I have to deal with every time I roll, and it is so discouraging to have to stop in the middle of a roll just to breath. I am not what I was before or what I could have been and most people would give up, but I would rather be struggling on those mats everyday than not at all. Jiu-Jitsu makes me happy… Struggle and all.

..
.

3 thoughts on “Promotions!!

  1. I agree, it is so nice to be recognized for your hard work. My grandsons just had another wrestling tournament, and they did come home with medals! The smile on their faces warms my heart!

Leave a comment